How youths can solve the problem of getting work experience

Source: Daniel Abrahams (LinkedIn) June 2021

Many job seekers or recently graduated youths get frustrated regularly as they go out in search of employment. The primary cause of this frustration is as a result of a lack of work experience which results in them not getting the job. They are frustrated because they actually need to “work” to “get experience”. So without experience they can’t get a job and without a job they can’t get experience. This is a cycle that continues to constantly raise questions among job seekers and employers alike.

What can be done to ‘get experience’ that will ensure that one gets employed? If the paid jobs are not readily available because of a lack of job related experience what can one do?

As a youth still studying in an academic environment, how do you make use of the free time that you have? I remember my time at the university, the time when I wasn’t in the lecture room was spent volunteering. I had ‘worked’ with an entertainment outfit that ran a theater and worked with models. My roles included developing weekly activities, working with the theater casts and models, getting everything they needed ready, and I even had to practice with the models once a week. When the owner of the organization went back to the UK I started my own home tutoring classes. Many people tell me that I was an exception to the rule but I think differently.

My volunteering with the entertainment outfit helped my writing skills and the first paid employment I got after I finished from the university was a job as a writer with an export firm in Lagos Nigeria. When I got to thee firm I was told what they needed was a writer/researcher for the firm’s newsletter and I was asked if I could write. I said yes and I was given a topic to write on. Just write without research or anything. I wrote on that topic and got the job.

What am I saying? Volunteering time with an organization is a key way we can acquire skills and get ‘work’ related experience. As a volunteer your focus is not on doing well so you can get paid. It is more on giving and giving your best and as you do this you learn new things or new ways things are done.

A fresh graduate who has just graduated from the University or College will have a challenge of getting a job especially if your grade is not in the top range. What will give you the edge is what you are bringing to the table aside from the certificate you got. The skills you have and been able to apply those skills to work issues and your ability to use the skills to solve problems will be a major factor on whether you get that job.

Most times when I talk to people about volunteering, the first question I get is what do they stand to gain? To the youth their focus is financial reward but to get financial reward you need to be able to give something. A salary or any sort of rémunération is given because you have been able to perform some set roles or duties outlined by the employer.

Truth be told, most companies this days don’t even care what your certificate looks like because they know that majority of students read to pass and get the certificate. For most of us the focus is not on acquiring employability or Entrepreneurial skills and so we graduate not having the skills or experience to be employed.

This challenges are overcome easily by the youth that spends part of their free time to volunteer with organizations related to their career focus or area of passion. They are also able to build a network and meet people that can help them grow as a future leader. These people act as a medium of influence and in some cases the volunteer gets a mentor who will help guide the youth towards achieving goals.

You can change the cycle today by looking for organizations in your community that is related to your field and volunteering with them.

Mariam Campbell is an advocate for entrepreneurship and employability through volunteering. Her belief is that people especially youths can achieve much by learning through giving. Mariam is an entrepreneurship and VET trainer as well as a business plan writer.

Published by IntercampServices

developing businesses using strategies and plan.

3 thoughts on “How youths can solve the problem of getting work experience

    1. Yes Sarah. I’n most cases the networks we build becomes the foundation to our greatest achievement.

Leave a comment